Why Block People on Google Plus?
One of the joys of a Google Plus profile or Google My Business Page is the ability to connect with anyone, anywhere within the Google Plus social system. In my previous post I highlighted why some home based businesses find random followers rather disturbing and how to change your Google Plus Local Business Page notification settings.
When you update your notification settings, you’ll no longer receive notifications from your random followers. However, you’ll still be in their circles and will show their “People in their circles” section on their About page if they choose to show that feature.
Sometimes you may not want to be associated with a person or business page at all – even in a small section on their About page. In these cases, using the block feature on Google Plus will remove you totally from their circles and prevent the person or page from adding you again.
In the video below, I am logged in as my Google My Business Local Business Page. Blocking people or pages on Google Plus works the same way for profiles too. A full transcript and screenshots are included below the video for those who prefer to read.
How To Block People On Google Plus
[showhide type=”transcript” more_text=”Click to Show Full Video Transcript” less_text=”Hide Video Transcript” hidden=”yes”]Hi it’s Jan kearney at My Local Business Online. In this video I want to show you how you can block people on Google Plus. When many of us created our Google Local Pages it was over on Google Places and we didn’t have the social function. It does come as a bit of a shock when people start following you from all over the place! Sometimes these people or other pages are not who you would want to associate with. What happens is you show up on their “people in their circles” list and also you may get notifications from them when they post updates and target their particular circles. Some people find this quite worrying, it can be a bit of a concern. So do note that you can block people on Google Plus.
The way you do it, I’ll show you by searching for me. I’m logged in as my page as you can see – My Local Business Online. I’ll search for me.
As you can see, here’s my profile. I’m logged in as my Page and perhaps I don’t want me nosing around on my Page. Pop over to here and you can either mute the person and all that means is you’ll stop seeing notification every-time they do something. Or you can report and/or block. When you click that it pops up with this pop-up.
You can remove from your circles. They’ll still have you in their circles.
You can block them which means the person will not be able to see or interact with any updates. They can see the public sections of your Google Local Page. You’ll also be removed from their circles as well. The connection is totally severed at that point.
Now if you have got somebody that’s being particularly abusive or spammy you can also report them. There’s no need to report everybody that you block. You might just not want to be connected to them or associated with them in any way. Block will do that.
Once you’ve clicked the block, click done and the connection will be severed. I hope that helps you getting to grips with your Google Local page and the difference now that we are social through Google My Business. I’ll speak to you soon.[/showhide]
How To Remove Your Local Business Page From Other Peoples’ Circles
1. Log in as your Google My Business Page
2. In the Google Plus search bar, search for the person (or page) you wish to block
3. View the profile or page and click the small down arrow just under the follow button
4. Select report/block
5. In the pop up box, select block.
6. Scroll down and click Done
I can help you get to grips with the new social Google Local. From coaching and training so you can do it yourself through to done for you listing set up and management, I work with microbusinesses and have several home based business clients. I’m at the end of the phone or email to talk through your concerns and I promise no bull or hype. Get in touch to see if we’re a good fit to work together to improve your online visibility.
Over to you…
Do you use the social features of your Google My Business Page? Share your experences in the comments below.